Back to School: Look #2: Maxi Skirt


When it comes to Back to School time, I like to bring summer with me to the hallways. I find that it helps me stay calm, cool and collected as I readjust to September. This look is just what I need to bring a simple, tropical look to school.  Hope you guys like it as much as I do!

Maxi Skirt

During the summer months, I could just live in maxi dresses. They’re comfortable and easy to throw on.  A maxi skirt serves the same purpose- except for the fact that I don’t own one. So, for this outfit, I’ll be using my favorite maxi dress as a makeshift maxi skirt. It’s up to you which one you choose to use.

I think that a maxi skirt without a slit is more appropriate for school, so I set out to find you guys a skirt that’s still just as stylish and fun. I found one printed one and one solid colored one. I find that maxi skirts that fit closer to the body are better for this outfit, but you make it work with what you have or what you’re comfortable with. For the patterned skirt, I chose a scroll-print in bright colors like orange, teal, fuchsia and yellow. It reminds me of a gypsy skirt, which is the sort of vibe we’re going for with this outfit. For the solid colored skirt, I chose a simple burgundy skirt that incorporates fall colors in a summery outfit. My dress is blue with a reverse ombré look to it- it gets darker as it gets longer. I find that maxi dresses and skirts in a solid color make my short legs look longer, but the choice is all yours.  Just don’t forget that you have to be able to walk in your maxi, which means making sure it’s a good length. I like mine to hit the middle of the top of my foot, that way it’s still long but I don’t have to worry about tripping on it.

scroll print maxi

burgundy maxi

DSCF2209

White Tank Top

To play off the color of the maxi skirt and keep it as the focal point of the outfit, I would pair it with a white tank top. I’m choosing to tuck a plain white tank top into the waistband of my “skirt” and balloon it out, but you can choose a more intricate tank top with lace or crocheting or whatever other detail you choose. The point of the white is to create contrast between the top and bottom halves of your outfit. The tank top keeps it summery, but if you don’t feel comfortable having your arms so exposed, feel free to wear a V-neck T-shirt or wear a sweater, There are also so many types of tank tops, so choose one that you’re comfortable in and that will hide your bra straps (I’m not allowed out of the house with my bra straps showing, so that’s important for me.) My choice tank top would be something with thick straps and a thick fabric, that way my bra can’t be seen through it. If you can see your bra through your tank, I would layer either a white cami or a nude bandeau underneath your tank. If you feel comfortable, you can wear just the cami. If you’re feeling a bit more daring, you can pair the skirt with a white lace bustier top. It will show a little skin- make sure your school dress code allows it!- and accentuate a tiny waist. One last fun example that I’m going to show you is a cage-backed cami. It gives your outfit an edgy flare, but you have to be careful about your bra showing. Don’t forget, there are endless varieties or white tanks!

white tank

white cami

white lace bustier

cage back cami

Shoes

I think this outfit would go perfectly with silver sandals (you’ll see why in the Accessories section below), but of course I don’t own a pair and I’m not going to buy a pair now. So, I’ll be wearing this outfit with black flip flops. It keeps my outfit grounded and down-to-earth, not to mention comfortable. I wouldn’t wear a pair with an applique or accessory on the top, though. I feel like that distracts from the rest of the outfit, and my “skirt” would most likely get stuck on them. If you want to wear silver sandals, I would suggest a pair of gladiator sandals. It gives a goddess-like effect to your outfit, and makes your shoe more of an accessory than a necessity. I also recommend something flat because it is, after all, school, but I’ll also include a high-heeled example for those of you who feel comfortable walking in heels.

black flip flops

silver sandals

silver wedges

Accessories

To finish off any outfit, you need accessories. For this outfit, I would start out with a thin silver belt around my natural waist. Since my “skirt” is actually a dress, the belt will help to keep it in place while drawing attention to my tiniest part. It would also match the silver sandals, but that’s not my priority, since I don’t have silver sandals. Don’t worry if your shoes and your belt aren’t the same color- they’re far enough away from each other that you won’t be able to tell if they clash. I also think this outfit calls for a statement necklace to add some bling to the tank top. Try to look for something in a similar color to your skirt. For the patterned skirt, choose one or two colors from the pattern and see if you can find something similar. For the solid colored skirt, try to find a skirt with that color and another color so your outfit doesn’t look too matchy matchy. If you can’t find a necklace that matches your skirt, stick to something silver. Feel free to add whatever other accessories you’d like!

silver belt

orange necklace

aztec geo necklace

silver necklace

If anyone has any ideas for this outfit or decides to try something like it, let me know in the comments below or send a picture to my email: tantilizinglytasteful@gmail.com! Also don’t forget to follow my Tumblr: tantalizingly-tasteful.tumblr.com! Love you guys xx

In This Article:

Scroll Print Maxi Skirt, $24.80 at Forever 21

Joe Benbasset Maxi Skirt in Burgundy, $19.99 at Kohl’s

My Women’s Tube Maxi Dress in Dip Dye Cool, $24.97 at Old Navy

Women’s Jersey-Stretch Tamis in Bright White, $8.00 at Old Navy

Women’s Premium Jersey-Stretch Camis in Bright White, $12.50 at Old Navy

Buttoned Lace Bustier in Ivory, $13.80 at Forever 21

Cage-Back Solid Knit Tank in White, $9.99 at Charlotte Russe

Rock & Candy Lollipops Flat Sandal in Black, $19.95 at DSW

Kelly & Katie Phoebe Flat Sandal in Silver, $39.95 at DSW

BCBG Paris Luna Wedge Sandal in Silver, $69.95 at DSW

Merona Metallic Skinny Belt in Silver, $14.99 at Target

High Voltage Beaded Necklace in Orange/gold, $6.80 at Forever 21

Aztec Geo Necklace, $29.99 at JewelMint.com

Etched Feather Necklace, $8.80 at Forever 21

2 thoughts on “Back to School: Look #2: Maxi Skirt

Leave a Reply

