Fall Fashion: My New Autumn Obsessions


Hey, all! I’m so excited that’s it finally fall! Why? It’s officially sweater weather! Even though I like sweaters, however, that’s not all I’m excited for this autumn! Keep reading to check out my faves of fall!

Printed Leggings

I have to be honest, I’m not really a legging girl. But, as of yesterday, I have an obsession with quirky and cute patterned leggings! They can tell so much about your personality and can be so versatile. I love this pair of leggings with bones on them from Forever 21 because they’re in a neutral color. I would pair them with a brightly colored sweater or even a crop top and combat boots. I’m also a fan of colored tribal print leggings, because they’re trendy and versatile. I would pair them with a white crop top and black high-top Converse.

bone leggings

colorful tribal leggings

Peplum Tops

I have always loved the peplum trend. (Click here to see an outfit I centered around a peplum top.) They’re cute and flirty, not to mention they cover your stomach if you’re self-conscious about it. What I really love this fall, though, is peplum shirts with a twist. Something in a classic print and silhouette, or something really daring with long sleeves that are perfect for when the weather cools down. When going for a classy look, like something with a collar and a buttoned front, I look for something in a cute print that keeps the top from getting too professional. Keep your outfit grounded with some ripped jeans and boat shoes. When it comes to a long-sleeved peplum top, however, I love to play it up with a deep autumn color like eggplant. It draws attention to that piece, but since the color is so dark, it can also serve as a neutral. Pair with leggings and combat boots for a casually cool look.

star peplum top

long sleeve peplum top

Colored Dresses and Skirts

I recently decided that my dress and skirt collections need a makeover. Sure, my dresses and skirts are cute, but they’re mostly drab and black, not to mention too fancy for school. Now, looking online, I’m seeing adorable printed and colorful dresses and skirts, and I am getting awfully excited. I want something that is school appropriate and party-worthy at the same time. Something like this dress from Forever 21, which boasts a sweet pink leopard print, is perfect for school when paired with sparkly flats and a blazer, but can also work for a party with a shimmery jacket and a pair of kitten heels. The A-line hem and high-cut neckline keep it modest and school appropriate, but leaves plenty of room for glamorous or sophisticated additions, like a bold cuff or slim belt. To go for a more edgy and fun look, try a dress with leather accents and a vibrant color, like teal or electric blue. To keep it from looking like you’re trying too hard, pair this kind of dress with a cute pair of sneakers and a cute headband. At night, keep it playful with a pair of wedges, lots of fun jewelry and a colorful chain-link bag. When it comes to skirts, keep the length appropriate if you’re going to be wearing it to school. You have to keep in mind that you’ll most likely be walking up and down stairs and carrying a heavy backpack, both of which can cause major wardrobe malfunctions. Something with a midi length and a bright, colorful pattern is perfect for school when paired with chic sneakers and a graphic tee. A high-waisted Aztec print skirt can be paired with a solid colored crop top, ankle boots and a wide brimmed hat for a hybrid bohemian/urban look. Make sure that, if it’s a bodycon skirt, it isn’t too tight! You want to be comfortable (yet adorable!) when at school. One last option could be a dark miniskirt. In a rich color like plum purple, the skirt can act as a neutral color. With a silhouette that cinches you at your tiniest place but widens at your thighs, this style is just about universally flattering. Pair with combat boots and a sparkly sweater for an edgy look.

pink leopard print dress

blue plaid dress

aztec midi skirt

purple mini skirt

Now I want your feedback. Which of these looks are you most excited to try? Vote on my pole below! Any other trends you love for fall? Let me know in the comments below! xx

In This Article:

Bone Head Leggings, $10.80 at Forever 21

Punchy Tribal Print Leggings, $10.80 at Forever 21

Star Peplum Top, $13.99 at Forever 21

Textured Boxy Peplum Top in Dusty Plum, $68.00 at Free People

Wild Thing A-Line Dress, $22.80 at Forever 21

Marilyn Monroe Juniors Dress, Sleeveless Plaid-Print Faux-Leather Collar, $39.99 at Macy’s

Neon Aztec Bodycon Midi Skirt, $12.97 at Rainbow

Jersey Skirt in Burgundy, $17.95 at H&M

Leave a Reply

