Summer Style: My Summer Must Haves


Hey guys, sorry I’ve been missing for a while, but here’s some good news: School’s officially over for me, which means more blog posts! *cue the applause* Since today is my first real day of summer, I thought I’d share some of my summer essentials with you guys, like some trends that I absolutely love and some classics that I can’t do without. Let’s get started!

Maxi Dress

If you read my Back to School Style articles from the beginning of the 2013/2014 school year, you know that I looooooooove a good maxi dress. They’re cute, fun and flattering, but also comfy and easy to throw on if you’ve only got a few minutes to get ready. Maxi dresses can take you from running errands to a froyo date with a quick switch of accessories and ‘do update. I personally like maxi dresses better than skirts because dresses can easily be transformed into skirts with a quick fold and a belt (like I did here). I like my maxis to hit the middle of the top of my foot so that I’m not tripping on them but they still appear long. I love how they don’t swallow up my tiny body (I’m only five foot!), but make me look taller instead. If yours is too long, take the time to get it hemmed. Believe me, it’s worth it! Just a little tip: Get your maxi hemmed in the shoes that you’re most likely to wear it with, so that it’s the right length for that type of shoe!

Image

Image

maxi dress 3

 

Ruffled Bathing Suits
What’s summer without a couple of cute bathing suits? Strategically placed ruffles on a bathing suit can help you play up your assets and keep things fun. As a curvy girl, I use flirty and fun ruffles to accentuate my waist and bust and to hide trouble spots like my belly. In a summery hue like bright orange or a floral pattern, they’re just perfect for a beach outing or a pool party! Don’t forget the floppy hat and the chic sunglasses!
ruffle bikini
ruffle bathing suit bottom
ruffle monokini

Pineapple Prints
This trend is probably one of my favorites right now. I’m a fan of the tropics and clothes in this fruity pattern bring me (almost) the same feeling as a trip to the Mediterranean for a fraction of the cost. Pineapples are cute, fun and eye catching, but can be worked in with neutrals so they become the center piece. The best thing about the pattern? You can find just about anything in it: shorts, bikini, crop top, dress, you name it! Find something that fits into the wardrobe you already have so you’re bringing a piece of vacation and the beach home with you!

pineapple crop top
pineapple bikini
pineapple skirt

Patterned Pants
I’ve finally done it guys! Today, I bought two pairs of patterned pants. Although the two are completely different styles, I’m excited to be adding them to my neutral tops. They’re easy to throw on and cute with a crop top, and often inexpensive. They’re comfortable and perfect for throwing over a bathing suit or for a night out with the girls. I’ll be wearing them next week at a four day workshop at F.I.T. in Manhattan!

patterned pants 1
patterned pants 2
patterned pants 3

So there are my summer must haves (so far)! Hopefully you’ll be seeing plenty of #OOTD with these trends in them, as well as my haul from today. And now it’s time for your feedback! Tell me about your favorite summer trends for this year or send me a pic of you rocking one of mine! Talk to me in the comments below or send an email to tantilizinglytasteful@gmail.com! Also don’t forget to follow my Tumblr: tantalizingly-tasteful.tumblr.com and my Instagram @tonirose08! Love you guys xx

In This Article:

Tie-Dye Flounce Maxi Dress, $32.99 at Charlotte Russe (online only)

Tropical Floral Maxi Dress, $27.80 at Forever 21

Belted Tube Maxi Dress in Burgundy, $29.90 at Wet Seal

Junior’s Ruffle Bandeau Swim Top -Floral Print, $17.99, and Junior’s Hipster Swim Bottom -Floral Print, $14.99 at Target

SO Bandeaukini Top in Blue Violet, $15.99, and SO Solid Ruffle Skirtini Bottom in Hot Fuchsia, $15.99 (online only) at Kohl’s

Rampage Floral Monokini, $19.99 at Wet Seal

Pineapple Crop Tank, $9.75 at Aeropostale

Pineapple Swim Top, $18.90, and Pineapple Swim Bottom, $15.90 at Wet Seal

Pineapple In Paradise Skirt in White, $30.00 at Go Jane

Pants Loose Fit in Black/Patterned, $17.95 at H&M

Reflections Lounge Pants, $22.99 at Pink Ice

Pleat Flower Cigarette Trousers, $40.00 at Topshop

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

