My Big Fat Fabulous Life: #NoBodyShameCampaign + PCOS


Hey, guys! Hope everyone’s been enjoying their holiday season so far! Today I’d like to take a little bit of a different route and talk to you guys about something that’s very close to my heart: PCOS.

My Big Fat Fabulous Life

My Big Fat Fabulous Life is a new reality show premiering on TLC on January 13. The show follows a woman named Whitney Thore as she works to overcome the affects of Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS), which caused her to gain 200 pounds. Whitney, who was a thin dancer as a child and teenager, began to rapidly gain weight in college. She eventually quit dance, saying that she just couldn’t stand to look at herself in the mirrors.  Whitney, now almost 30 years old and about 360 pounds, has begun dancing again, having become more comfortable in her body. She recently posted a series of videos of her dancing, entitled A Fat Girl Dancing, which led to increased popularity and her #NoBodyShameCampaign. The idea behind this campaign is that no one should shame another person’s body, no matter what it looks like. Whitney’s new show will follow her as she tries to regain control of her life and body. She says, “I may be fat, but I’m still fabulous. I have one life to live, and it damn sure better count.” You can check out trailers for her upcoming show here.

What Is PCOS?

Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, known as PCOS for short, is a disorder that causes a woman’s hormones to be out of whack, which can cause irregular periods and difficulties getting pregnant. PCOS has a tendency to cause rapid weight gain, hair growth on the chin, sideburns,chest and stomach, and acne, as well as an inability to lose weight, because ovaries affected by PCOS make more male sex hormones than they should. Most women that have this have small cysts, or small fluid-filled bubble, on their ovaries. PCOS can also cause the body to become insulin resistant, which could lead to diabetes.

The trouble with PCOS is that there are a lot of unknowns. No one really knows what causes PCOS or how to diagnose it. Also, about 70% of women with PCOS do not show any symptoms. Many doctors believe that PCOS is passed down through a family line, but they still can’t be sure.

While there is no known cure for PCOS, many doctors recommend treating the disease with exercise, a balanced diet and not smoking in order to decrease its affects. But for some, that is just not enough. When someone’s body just does not respond to these methods, a doctor may prescribe medication such as metformin, clomiphene, or spironolactone in conjunction with hormonal birth control. The hope is that these medications will regulate one’s ovulation and sex hormone levels.

Recognize Yourself?

Do you see yourself in this description? Talk to your primary care doctor and they can tell you what your best bet is. Many doctors recommend going to see a gynecologist or endocrinologist, but always consult your doctor first, especially if your symptoms are severe.

PCOS and I

PCOS is close to my heart because I was diagnosed with it when I was only 12 or 13. I have a family history of the disease: my grandmother and aunt both have it. I have an irregular menstrual cycle, uncontrollable facial hair and a very easy time gaining weight but an incredibly hard one losing it. I also get cramps every day. It’s something I’ve been struggling with for as long as I can remember. I have seen doctor after doctor, but nothing seems to have helped. I’ve been on metformin and spironolactone, but neither worked. The next step for me would be hormonal birth control, but I have yet to decide if that’s the path I want to take. In the meantime, I’m trying to improve my diet and exercise routine. I stopped being a vegetarian nearly a year ago, so I’ve added more proteins into my diet and tried to cut out carbs, which just help testosterone multiply in my body. I’ve also started doing Zumba and the results have been awesome so far! My advice to anyone who sees themselves in this description is to definitely talk to your doctor, but also try to do a little by yourself: Improve the way you’re eating and exercise! I’m definitely not an expert, but I can tell you from experience that I always feel better when I’m trying to improve those two aspects of my life. Get your friends involved, too, and the whole thing becomes way more fun. I had some friends over to do Zumba last week, and I not only worked out, I got some great laughs in the process!

Thanks for reading, guys! If you want any more info on PCOS or want to help with the cause, check out the PCOS foundation’s website! Also, if you guys have any questions for me about how I’ve been dealing with PCOS or what doctors I’ve seen, I’d be more than happy to help. Also, let me know if you’d like to see more health and body-related posts on my blog! Talk to me in the comments below, or send an email to tantilizinglytasteful@gmail.com! Also don’t forget to follow my Tumblr, tantalizingly-tasteful.tumblr.com, my Pinterest @TTasteful, my Lookbook account, http://lookbook.nu/tonirose08 and my Instagram, @tonirose08! Love you guys xx

6 thoughts on “My Big Fat Fabulous Life: #NoBodyShameCampaign + PCOS

  1. I think your brave and a fabulous person. You just keep on trucking on what makes YOU happy. I love your show. I thing you are so funny. Coming from a female who once was over weight and I know your struggles. You just remember, you are a beautiful woman. Have a happy day!!!

Leave a Reply

