#OOTD December 27, 2015 + The Importance of Accessorizing


Welcome back, Tasters! And welcome back to me, too… Major apologies for  being MIA since August! To catch you all up, I finished my first semester of college at Stony Brook University (I’ll write a whole post soon) and now I’m on winter break for basically another month, so hopefully I’ll have plenty of time to actually blog! Let’s get started with my Outfit of the Day from my cousin’s baptism!

#OOTD

IMG_3333
A black and white dress is always classy! Shoutout to my cousin Catherine for taking this shot! Dress: MSK at Modcloth; Shoes: Fioni; Necklace: One Wink at DSW; Clutch: Forever 21
IMG_3335
Couldn’t resist posing with the gazebo!
IMG_3362
Love taking candid shots with my cousin Catherine, especially when we’re matching in black and white!
IMG_3411
Had to get a shot with my cousin Yanna, too!
IMG_3424
Yanna, Catherine and I partying it up later in the evening

Where You Can Get It

 

ootd 12.27.15 where you can get it
Matelassé Contrast Trim Dress – $22.90 at Forever 21; One Wink Multi Flower Bib Necklace – $29.95 at DSW; Chevron Appeal Faux Leather Clutch in Red – $18.71 at GoJane; Wow Platform Pump in Nude – $69.95 at Chinese Laundry

The Importance of Accessorizing

As far as I’m concerned, the accessories you choose for an outfit can make or break the entire look. With my outfit for the baptism, for example, I realized that I needed some eye-catching details to keep my relatively simple dress from being too boring. On the flip side, over-accessorizing can totally destroy an outfit by distracting from the natural beauty of both the clothes and the person. Here are some of my tips for accessorizing:

  1. Let your makeup and accessories work together: If I’m wearing colored accessories, I try to tie those colors in with my makeup as well so it doesn’t look like I’m trying to hard to mesh color palettes. For the baptism, for instance, I matched my clutch to my lipstick, which was NYX’s Butter Gloss in Red Velvet. Matching colors together in a subdued way like this lets your look stand out but also look classic and mature.

    nyx butter gloss in red velvet
    NYX has been one of my favorite makeup brands recently. I bought this color for the holidays and I’ve been loving it! NYX Butter Gloss in Red Velvet – $4.99 at Ulta
  2. Go bold with a striking color: When I wear all black or a combination of black and white, I always pack a punch with bold accessories, whether it’s an electric blue, a neon pink or a radiant red. The trick to pulling this off though is sticking to one bright piece instead of multiple to keep yourself from looking childish.
  3. Know when to mix metals: For fancier occasions like a baptism, I like to stick to one metal instead of mixing, so the other night, I stayed with gold. On an everyday basis, however, I tend to mix gold and silver for a more urban and effortless vibe. Knowing your intended atmosphere and vibe will help you decide how you should accessorize.
  4. Stay balanced: Make sure your jewelry and accessories are well-balanced to ensure that they aren’t fighting for dominance. If you pair a statement necklace with dangly earrings, they’ll swallow you whole. Decide which piece you want to take center stage, and work around that to decide what other accessories you should pair with it.

Now I’d like your feedback! I hope this post gave to a little bit of a peek into my life and gave you some ideas about accessorizing! What did you think of my outfit and my tips? Do you have any ideas about how you’d execute an outfit like this? Would you like to see more posts like this in the future? Talk to me in the comments below, or send an email to tantilizinglytasteful@gmail.com! You can also follow my brand new Facebook page, Tantalizingly Tasteful! Don’t forget to follow my Tumblr,tantalizingly-tasteful.tumblr.com, my Pinterest @TTasteful, my Lookbook account,http://lookbook.nu/tonirose08 and my Instagram, @tantalizinglytasteful! Love you guys, thanks for reading!!! xx

Leave a Reply

