Tuesday Tunes: Workout Jams


Working out just isn’t the same without killer tunes. I can’t work my hardest unless there’s music pumping into my ears. It keeps me energized and motivated when I need it the most, and can sometimes transport me away from the mundane.

things-to-look-for-in-exercise-headphones
Wish I could be running by that view right now… but sometimes music alone can take you away. Image via Google

And this isn’t even just a me thing… Studies have shown that while music not only elevates your mood, it also helps you keep your pace while exercising and helps you focus on the task at hand. Music is just enjoyable, and can make you feel great.

What’s great about music is that everyone’s taste in music is different, which means there’s no one “official” playlist. Sometimes, the music you listen to while working out is dependent on the type of exercise and the setting. For example, you definitely wouldn’t hear the same type of music in a meditation yoga class as you would in a high-intensity kickboxing class (highly recommend checking iLoveKickboxing out here by the way!) Plus, you’re not always in the same mood when you’re working out. So, does that mean you need to have multiple playlists ready for your different workouts? Maybe… or you can just rely on someone else’s. I, for one, generally like making my own, so I’m here to share some of my favorites tracks and playlist ideas with you! I even started a new Spotify account just to share them with you. Make sure you follow TTasteful on Spotify to see my full range of playlists!

STRENGTH

The way I see it, this playlist is just about pure energy and strength. These songs make me feel strong, powerful and in control of my life and self. When I hear these songs, I feel raw strength and drive. I’m not sure I’m doing it justice honestly. I just feel like I can tackle anything with this soundtrack. Some songs include Power by Kanye West, Thunderstruck by AC/DC and Don’t Let Me Down by The Chainsmokers.

BOY BYE

I admit it, a lot of times when I work out, I channel my emotions into it. Doesn’t everyone? That’s exactly why I have this playlist, which is a playlist that not only gets my blood flowing and heart pumping, but also reminds me that I deserve better than whatever crap I’m dealing with. One of my favorite songs on this mix is Too Good by Drake, and some others include 7/11 by Beyoncé, Roar by Katy Perry, and We’re Not Gonna Take It by Twisted Sister.

Girl Power

One pre-made Spotify playlist that I love is the Girl Power playlist. With artists like Lady Gaga, the Spice Girls and Selena Gomez, this mix is perfect for when I need a little bit of reminding of how strong and kick-butt women can be. Nothing brightens my day like inspiring songs like Confident by Demi Lovato and Kill Em With Kindness by Selena Gomez.

GREECE SUMMER

Something that I do love to listen to while working out, even though it’s not on Spotify, is any Greek summer mix. I’m half Greek (and darn proud of it), and listening to this music while working out can just take me away from the New York dreariness sometimes. It provides a much-needed escape and pick-me-up. This one by DJ Golden Feta is my personal favorite right about now and almost makes me feel like I’m back in the Mediterranean.

summer-mix-greece
This music makes me want to go back to the motherland so badly…

Naturally, this is just the beginning. I’m always looking for new music (shout out to my best friend Grant for always sending me links) and am always adding onto the playlist. Please let me know what you listen to while working out or if you have any suggestions for me! Good luck on your own playlists, and don’t forget to follow TTasteful on Spotify for inspiration!

xx,

Toni

Email: tantilizinglytasteful@gmail.com

Twitter: @TTasteful

Instagram: @tantalizinglytasteful

Pinterest: @TTasteful

Facebook: Tantalizingly Tasteful

Snapchat: @TTasteful

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

