Building Your Support System: What You Need to Know About Bras


 

Yeah, you read that right. Last week, we may have celebrated National No Bra Day in the United States and the United Kingdom, but as a big-chested gal, I can personally say that going braless can be dangerous. Though No Bra Day is totally important because it helps raise awareness for breast cancer, it is also crucial to know what to look for in a supportive bra and what to avoid.

  1. Shape Trumps All: Yes, pretty bras are in fact pretty, but they’re not at all worth it  if they don’t give you the right shape. TMI moment: I was looking at some old pictures from 2013 yesterday morning and realized with disappointment that my boobs looked like they were a mile apart from each other. The problem? I spent my early high school years shopping for cute bras with polka dots in bows instead of focusing on the shape and support they gave me. I’ve learned my lesson, though. All my bras are now super supportive and keep my ladies looking shapely and in place. But they can still be super cute! Most of mine are lacey and classy, but I also have some pink ones and one floral and polka dot one. The moral of the story is make sure that if you are going to opt for a patterned or cutesy bra, make sure it all gives your girls good shape.

    bras-3
    I love my bras because they’re cute and totally supportive!
  2. Strapped In: The type of straps that you have on your bra are oh-so important. For starters, a thicker strap will keep you in place better. But the style of strap is also crucial. Of course, you’ve got the regular strap bra for everyday affairs, but sometimes you may need a racerback bra, or a halter bra, or even a one-shoulder bra. You can totally invest in bras for all of these occasions (I for one have several crisscross back bras that I love), or you can simply buy a bra that has adjustable straps. These bras are great because they can be worn any way, even strapless. There’s even this awesome hack for strapless bras with attachable straps!

    bra-graphic
    Just a few bra options, via looksgud.comlooksgud.comlooksgud.comlooksgud.com
  3. The Good Stuff: Picking a bra that’s made with durable, but flexible and comfortable material is key. If you choose a bra that’s flimsy, not only will it wear out quickly, but it will also fail to support you. Also, some materials can be itchy or too tight or too stretchy. If you invest in a good quality bra, you won’t find yourself constantly needing to replace them.
  4. Color Matters: Color does indeed matter, but only based on what you’re wearing it with. You don’t always want your bra to show through your clothes, so having a nude bra you can wear under whites is essential. Otherwise, I find that there are no official rules about bra colors and clothing. Test things out to see what color bra looks best with what you’re wearing.
  5. Get Felt Up: Please don’t be afraid of the ladies walking around the store. If you don’t know your bust size, ask them to measure you! They are very helpful with giving you a starting place. They can save you from buying bras that don’t actually fit you, and their measurements can be a lot more accurate than your friends’ eyes.
  6. Try. It. On.: Nothing is for sure unless you try the damn bra on. Just because a bra looks fabulous on your friend does not mean it’s going to hold up your knockers in the same way. Do yourself the favor of trying them on beforehand to make sure the hold your boobs correctly, the straps are comfortable, and the back is just right. Nothing is worse that buying a bra you think you love only to go home and find out it doesn’t really fit.
  7. Repeat Offender: Well, not really. If you love a certain bra style or company or store, trust them. Of course, your body and style can change over time, but if you really love your bra, stick to your guns. You’re more likely to be content if you go with something you’re pretty confident you like. My friends have repeatedly recommend Aerie, but their bras just don’t work well with my chest. I have tried corsetiere after corsetiere but my favorite place to buy bras is still Victoria’s Secret. I have found that their bras support me the best and make my ladies look fierce. They’re comfortable and durable, and ultimately affordable, especially when they have their sales! They come in so many colors and styles and I have for sure been the happiest there. You can take a look at one of my favorite Victoria’s Secret bras here.

    bras-1
    Most of my bras… all of which are from Vitori
  8. Be a Good Bra Mom: This is one of the most important tips out there. If you want your bras to last and make your ladies look phenom, make sure you’re taking great care of your over the shoulder boulder holders. I’ll never forget the first time I walked into Victoria’s Secret, I tried to buy a push-up bra (long story). I was only 12 or so, embarrassed to be shopping for “grown-up” bras, and at the mall with my best friend, Torie. I was trying to hide the bra from other shoppers, so I put the two cups inside of each other and tucked it under my arm. When I went to the register, the sales lady, who, in retrospect, was also probably a little crazy, scolded me for trying to ruin the bra cups. To this day, I still make sure my bra cups maintain their shape when I put them in my drawer, simply for fear of ruining one of the most important pieces of clothing I own. So make sure you take the best care of your bras by being gentle and delicate with them, and hand-washing them when they get dirty. Basically, make sure you love and support them, because they’re loving and supporting you.
    support-bras-comic
    That bra love though

     

     

Hope you all learned a thing or two about bras and can use them in your own lives! Please let me know if you try any of these tips or bras out or if you have any questions!!

 

xx,

Toni

Email: tantalizinglytasteful@gmail.com

Twitter: @TTasteful

Instagram: @tantalizinglytasteful

Pinterest: @TTasteful

Facebook: Tantalizingly Tasteful

Snapchat: @TTasteful

Lookbook: http://lookbook.nu/tonirose08

Leave a Reply

